Register Notation

Without a register prefix (see S12Z Options ), S12Z assembler code is expected in the traditional format like this:

     lea s, (-2,s)
     st d2, (0,s)
     ld x,  symbol
     tfr d2, d6
     cmp d6, #1532

However, if as is started with (for example) ‘ -mreg-prefix=% ’ then all register names must be prefixed with ‘ % ’ as follows:

     lea %s, (-2,%s)
     st %d2, (0,%s)
     ld %x,  symbol
     tfr %d2, %d6
     cmp %d6, #1532

The register prefix feature is intended to be used by compilers to avoid ambiguity between symbols and register names. Consider the following assembler instruction:

     st d0, d1

The destination operand of this instruction could either refer to the register ‘ D1 ’, or it could refer to the symbol named “d1”. If the latter is intended then as must be invoked with ‘ -mreg-prefix= pfx ’ and the code written as

     st pfx
d0, d1

where pfx is the chosen register prefix. For this reason, compiler back-ends should choose a register prefix which cannot be confused with a symbol name.